Monthly Archives: September 2012

Constantines and Feist – Islands in the Stream

The Constantines and Feist take on a slowdance classic originally by Kenny Rodgers and Dolly Parton.

via: Chromemusic

Swans Gig Poster

Screenprint by Brian Ewing (via: this isn’t happiness).

A cardboard turntable by Kid Koala

Sweet promo idea: a limited batch of Kid Koala´s new album 12 bit Blues comes with a cardboard turntable/grammophon and a flexidisc. Get your folding skills ready to set up the sound system and enjoy the flexidisc featuring narrations by Kid Koala’s mother-in-law.

via: Nerdcore

Sound of Noise

Sound of Noise is a 2010 Swedish-French comedy-crime film written and directed by Ola Simonsson and Johannes Stjärne Nilsson. It tells the story of a group of musicians who illegally perform music on objects in the various institutions of a city. The film is a follow-up to the 2001 short film Music for One Apartment and Six Drummers, which was made by the same people and followed the same basic concept. The title comes from the Italian futurist Luigi Russolo’s 1913 manifesto The Art of Noises.

via: Austin Kleon

Zammuto – Shape of Things to Come

Some days ago Pitchfork TV presented a mini-documentary on Nick Zammuto, formerly of The Books. Directed by Matt Day, The Shape of Things to Come, shows him busy with his family in his self build house, eating self grown food and rehearsing and touring with his current project called Zammuto. He even goes in to some detail about how to make percussive beats utilising record clicks and a PVC Pipe.

via: Pitchfork

Compositions II

Roy Lichtenstein, Compositions II (via: this isn’t happiness)

Nayoa Hatakeyama – Natural Stories

One of Japan’s most prominent photographers, Naoya Hatakeyama is known for austere and beautiful large-scale pictures that capture the extraordinary forces we deploy to shape nature to our will — and, in photographs made after the 2011 Tohoku earthquake and tsunami, the equally powerful impact of natural forces on human construction. –

via: this isn’t happiness

Deep Time – Clouds

DEEP TIME (née YELLOW FEVER) are from Austin TX, a bewitching pop duo, comprised of Jennifer Moore on Organ, electric guitar and vocal microphone, and Adam Jones on drums – who are as infectious and delightful as this time demands. –

Bon Iver 2012 European Tour Poster


A Robot

As seen here (via: